Research

Overview of our research topics

Best engineering practice suggests a product (be it a building or a vehicle) to be modeled before it is physically built. Important properties of the product are formulated and verified in terms of the model already. That way corresponding properties for the realized product can be guaranteed.

Research in informatics has always included the design of corresponding models and methods. However, the interest in model based design techniques significantly increased during recent years. Software industry is taking up this topic, most visible by the ongoing efforts on UML.

The chair on Theory of Programming (TOP) conducts research on various aspects of modeling computer integrated systems. This includes fundamental theoretical problems of modeling and verification, and applied techniques and tools for modeling and verification, as well as their commercial application in cooperation with partners of the software industry.

Actual research topics at the chair concentrate on some few modeling methods, analysis techniques and case studies. Concrete work is organized in projects. A project may be dedicated to several research topics. The Humboldt-Universitaet computer science lab runs three research areas. The TOP chair contributes to the area of model based system design.

Research Topics

Cooperations

Third Party Projects

Archive

Forschung

Übersicht über unsere Forschungsgebiete

Es ist gute ingenieurwissenschaftliche Praxis, ein Produkt (beispielsweise ein Gebäude oder ein Fahrzeug) vor seiner Herstellung in verschiedenen Aspekten zu modellieren. Wichtige Eigenschaften des Produktes werden zunächst am Modell formuliert und nachgewiesen; nicht erst am fertigen Produkt.

Für Software und rechnerintegrierte Systeme werden seit Beginn der Informatik-Forschung entsprechende Methoden und Modelle entwickelt und erfolgreich verwendet. In letzter Zeit haben führende Firmen der Software-Industrie das Thema aufgegriffen und streben mit der „Unified Modeling Language“ UML ein einheitliches Vorgehen an.

Am Lehrstuhl Theorie der Programmierung werden Aspekte der Modellierung von Softwaresystemen in ihrer ganzen Breite untersucht, von grundlegenden, theoretischen Fragestellungen zur Modellierung und zur Verifikation über anwendungsorientierte Entwurfstechniken, Modellierungs- und Analysewerkzeuge, bis hin zu kommerziellen Anwendungen in Kooperation mit Partnern der Software-Industrie.

Die derzeitigen Arbeiten am Lehrstuhl sind auf einige ausgewählte Modellierungsmethoden, Analysetechniken und Fallstudien konzentriert. Organisiert sind diese Arbeiten in Projekten. Inhaltlich kann ein Projekt quer zu den genannten Methoden liegen. Insgesamt trägt die Forschung des Lehrstuhls zum Schwerpunkt Modellbasierte Systementwicklung des Institutes bei.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Kooperationen

Drittmittelprojekte

Archiv